Thing 4: Digital Security

“What is the biggest lie in the entire universe? ‘I have read and agree to the Terms & Conditions.'”

– Reader’s Digest http://www.rd.com/jokes/computer/

Digital security is something that we should all prioritise, myself included. I am usually careful to customise the permissions on new apps that I download and I always turn off my phone location – unless I am lost and relying on Google Maps to find North. So I was surprised to find that there were still some apps that had permissions I did not remember granting. Using the My Permissions app, I was surprised to find that there were several apps and accounts that I had deleted, but were still connected to my social media accounts. 

It is easy to miss, a simple click can provide instant access to a mountain of personal data. The security of our personal devices and online accounts is something that a lot of us do not take seriously until something happens. This week’s assignment was a good reminder that I should regularly be checking my app permissions and my overall phone security.

Leave a comment